Ruturaj Gaikwad and Harmanpreet Kaur will lead the Indian men’s and women’s teams for the 19th Asian Games

Jaiswal scored a hundred on his debut against West Indies on Thursday and became the third Indian to score 150 in his first game for India.

Tilak has also been included in the squad to face West Indies in the five-match series starting August 3.

Gaikwad, who will lead the team in China, is currently in the Test squad in the Caribbean. Wicketkeeper-batsman Jitesh Sharma and left-arm pacer Arshdeep Singh have also been included in the squad.

Meanwhile, the women’s team will be led by captain Harmanpreet Kaur, with Smriti Mandhana as her deputy. Harleen Deol, Kashvi Gautam, Sneh Rana, Saika Ishaq and Pooja Vastrakar are in the reserve list.

Young pacer Titas Sadhu, who impressed the Indian team while winning the title at the inaugural Under-19 Women’s World Cup in South Africa, has been included in the squad. The 18-year-old is not part of the Indian team based in Bangladesh.

Bangladesh-based spinners Minnu Mani and Anusha Bareddy are included in the squad. Wicketkeeper Richa Ghosh, who was suspended for the Bangladesh tour due to health reasons, has also returned to the squad.

Cricket has participated in two Asian Games – in 2010 and 2014 – but India did not field a team. After being left out of the 2018 Asian Games in Jakarta, cricket returned to the program for the Hangzhou Games, which were supposed to be held last year but were postponed due to the zero-covid policy, wired byAnjali Sarwani, Titas Sadhu, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Minnu Mani, Kanika Ahuja, Uma Chetri (wk), Anusha Bareddy

Reserve list of players: Harleen Deol, Kashvee Gautam, Sneh Rana, Saika Ishaque, Pooja Vastrakar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top