‘Number 6 is where there’s a bit of anxiety’: Sunil Gavaskar on Team India’s playing lineup ahead of the WTC finals

India enters the match as the slight favorite to win their last Test series against Australia. But the Kangaroos won’t be pushing back against their opponents; they have a wealth of experience in the lineup.

The match is expected to be tight, and both teams have chances to win. Conditions at the Oval will be crucial, and former legendary Indian batter Sunil Gavaskar named the starting eleven for the Blues and identified one problem area in the star batting lineup.

I will be talking about batting, and it will be Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill as one or two players. Number 3 is (Cheteshwar) Pujara, number 4 is (Virat) Kohli, number 5 is Ajinkya Rahane. Number 6 is where there is a little concern, Gavaskar told Star Sports.

I would assume that number 6 would be (Srikar) Bharat or Ishaan Kishan. They are talking about Bharat because he has played all these matches so far. So Bharat will probably remain number six, Gavaskar remarked. Talking about the pace attack of the Asian giants, the former India skipper claims that seamer Shardul Thakur will be able to complement the duo of fast bowlers Mohammad Shami and Mohammad Siraj in the final. Number 7 will be (Ravindra) Jadeja. If it’s going to be a bright day and a bright forecast, I think you’ll see Jadeja and (Ravichandran) Ashwin at #7 and #8. At No. 9, 10 and 11 will be Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj and possibly Shardul Thakur, Gavaskar added.

Gavaskar also named his Indian squad for the World Test finals as follows:

Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, K S Bharat (goalkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Shardul Thakur.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top