Josh Hazlewood gets cut when Australia approves final WTC lineup

Paceman interrupted his Indian Premier League (IPL) campaign earlier this month after reporting a minor soreness in his side, but Cricket Australia has declared him fit for the winner’s test at London’s The Oval, which begins June 7.

The 32-year-old joins captain Pat Cummins, Scott Boland and Mitchell Stark as specialist fast bowlers in the squad, while Mitch Marsh and batsman Matthew Renshaw, who were included in the original lineup, are absent.

India confirmed the 15-player squad announced three weeks ago after batsman keeper K.L. Rahul dropped out due to a right leg injury and was replaced by non-player Ishan Kishan.

Undeclared opener Yashaswi Jaiswal was named along with Mukesh Kumar and Suryakumar Yadav as India’s reserve players after a strong IPL campaign.

Reserve players can now replace an injured player in the squad only with the approval of the ICC technical committee.

After the final, in which both sides will be aiming for their first title, Australia will begin the Ashes series against England, with the first Test starting at Edgbaston on June 16.

Australia: Pat Cummins (captain), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labushagne, Nathan Lyon, Todd Murphy, Steve Smith, Mitchell Stark, David Warner

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, K. S. Bharat, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaidev Unadkat, Ishan Kishan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top