10 teams will participate in the ODI World Cup qualifying tournament in Zimbabwe starting June 18

Every match will be high stakes, as the teams will be fighting for two spots at the World Cup in India in October-November.

The 10 teams competing in the qualifying tournament are divided into two groups of five teams each. Hosts Zimbabwe, the West Indies, the Netherlands, Nepal and the United States make up Group A, while Sri Lanka, Ireland, Scotland, Oman and the United Arab Emirates make up Group B.

Each team will play the other teams in its group once, and the top three teams from each group will advance to the Super Six stage. In the Super Six, they will play the teams they did not face in the group stage.

All points earned in the group stage will carry over to the Super Six stage, except for points earned against teams that do not make the Super Six. Both finalists will advance to the 2023 World Championship.

Queens Sports Club and Bulawayo Athletic Club in Bulawayo, Harare Sports Club and Takashinga Cricket Club in Harare will share 34 matches, while Harare Sports Club will play the final on July 9. Old Hararians Cricket Club will also play warm-up matches.

Hosts Zimbabwe will play Harare Sports Club on opening day against Nepal, which seeks to qualify for the World Cup for the first time. The two-time West Indies champions will also play June 18 against neighbors the United States at the Takashingha Cricket Club.

Group B will begin June 19 in Bulawayo: 1996 World Cup champions Sri Lanka will face the UAE at Queen’s Sports Club, and in another match at Bulawayo Athletic Club, Ireland will face Oman.

The Netherlands will open their campaign against Zimbabwe on June 20 at Harare Sports Club, and Scotland will face rivals Ireland in Bulawayo on June 21 at Queens Sports Club. The Super Six stage will begin June 29, and the bottom two teams from each group will advance to the Playoffs.

For the first time at this tournament, DRS will be used in all games beginning with the Super Six stage.

The Qualifying Tournament is the culmination of four years of hard-fought competition, featuring the five last-place teams in the ICC Men’s CWC Super League, three automatic qualifiers from ICC Men’s CWC League 2 and the two teams earning an appearance in the ICC Men’s CWC Qualifying Tournament Playoffs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top